How to remove backups from a Mac

Saving data from a Mac with Time Machine can take up a lot of space. Often it is insufficient, or the backup disk is no longer available.

In these cases, MacOS will start creating snapshots, which are copies of your data waiting to be backed up. Thanks to these, you can restore your files.

If these copies are too old or have space for other tasks, then MacOS automatically deletes them.

To recover space and manually delete those backups that are of no use to you, follow this tutorial.

Manually delete local snapshots

There are two techniques for removing historical photographs from your hard drive, turning off Time Machine, or going through the Terminal.

Image result for mac backup

1- Disable Time Machine

Disabling the Time Machine feature will delete all your local snapshots stored on your Mac.

To do this, open System Preferences, select Time Machine, and uncheck the Automatically save box.

Wait a few minutes for these snapshots to be erased, you should see a lot of free space freeing up.

2- Remove Time Machine backups with the Terminal

The other solution is to consider, only if the first one has failed. Also, we do not recommend it to novices and users of macOS 10.12 (Sierra) or earlier.

If this is your case, then we advise you to repeat the first step several times and contact Apple if it does not work.

On the other hand, if you feel comfortable with macOS, then open Finder and go to Applications → Utilities → Terminal. Enter the command sudo tmutil disable local (please respect the spaces).