How to prevent your iPhone from tracking you

Apple is watching you. To do this, the Cupertino company has recourse to one of its flagship products, the iconic smartphone iPhone, which team many of us. A feature built into the iOS, the operating system of Apple-branded products, allows you to constantly track your movements and store a detailed history of the places you visit regularly on your iPhone.

This feature, called Significant Locations, is described by Apple as follows: “Allows your iPhone to learn important places for you to provide you with useful information about location in maps, calendar, photos, and more Important locations are encrypted and can not be read by Apple. “

If the application will not catch the attention of some users of the US giant, others already perceive the tool as an abuse of power on the part of the California firm and denounce an invasion of privacy. They may be happy to learn that they can find the data collected by their smartphone. This at the cost of a tedious procedure so much Apple has buried deeply this data in the bowels of his iOS.

So, how do you find the information that this feature Significant Rental has collected about you?

These are stored in Settings> Privacy> Location Services> System> Important Locations (or Important Locations). Note that you must scroll down the list in Location Services to find system services, while Significant Locations is also at the bottom of the list.

In order to access this data, you will need to authenticate using the iPhone password, or using Touch ID or Face ID, so it is not as if this information is available to anyone with access to your iPhone.

Once you are in the Significant Locations screen, you will be greeted with a list of the places you visited, which is then broken down into more detailed locations, along with the dates you were there. If you tap one of the entries, a map showing the exact location and the times you were there will be displayed.

To delete the data already collected, you have two options:

  • Selectively delete the data by going into each entry, pressing Edit in the upper right corner of the screen and deleting the entries one at a time.
  • Bulk delete the data that scrolls down the list on the Important Locations page and tap Clear History.

You can also disable this feature completely by flipping the switch on the Important Locations page of the Settings section. This prevents the collection of new data, but it is important to note that it does not delete the data already collected and stored.