How to cancel sending an e-mail?

You have just sent your email but you forgot the attachment? Did you send it to the wrong person? Know that it is possible for you to cancel sending and recover, without even the recipient noticing.

Gmail allows, like Outlook, to cancel the sending of an email and to recover it. This email reminder is somehow a postponement of the mailing. You have 30 seconds at most, to get your email, before it, for good, sent and received.

It goes without saying that the cancellation of the sending will not work if your internet connection cuts.

Note that if you are using the Labs version, the Undo Send feature is enabled by default.

Perhaps you would be interested in our comparison of free mailboxes and our tutorial on the synchronization of your Gmail and Outlook calendar.

Tim-Gouw-Unsplash

Cancel sending an email with Gmail

First stage

  • Sign in to your Gmail account and click on the top-right icon in the form of a cog.
  • Select the Settings option.

 

Second step

  • In the General tab, go to the section Cancel sending.
  • Then, check the Enable Cancel Sending box.

 

Third step

In the drop-down list, select the amount of time you give yourself to cancel your email.

 

Fourth stage

At the bottom of the page, confirm your changes by clicking Save Changes.

 

Step five

From now on, when you send an email, the notification Your message has been sent will be accompanied by the options Cancel and Show message.

All you have to do is click Cancel for a few seconds, and rectify your email or send it to the right recipient.